Collisions On Aether: Chapter 4 – Heavy Lifting

Chapter 3

Chapter 5

More footage has been shot, and thus I can bring you another chapter of Samus’s adventure on Aether.

Metroid Prime 2: Echoes

I attempted to do a fairly wonky photoshop this time to get all the scan information for one creature into a single shot. I would appreciate some feedback on whether you like it or not, and if you think I should do more or just leave it be.

Regular text is Samus’s thoughts; bold is Wiki and other instances of computer text/speech; “” designates speech; cursive is the narrator.

Ow. Ow. Ow. This is going to sting for a while. Good thing I’m resistant to bruising.

Samus lets out a slight hiss as she touches a sore spot.

Alright, my tactical ability and offencive capability have been severely reduced. The charge beam still seems to be functioning properly, and I can still morph, but this will limit my options going forward. Perhaps they have something I can borrow at the GalFed ship. Even if I could get back to my own, it would take too long to manufacture new upgrades, especially considering the repairs needed. No, I’ll keep forging forwards and improvise as I go.

Those creatures though… with their intense eyes… leaving such dangerous equipment in their hands is not good. I should recover it if I can. If they come after me with my own gear, that will be my chance. If I have to hunt them… well, this is a big planet, but hopefully they won’t migrate far.

“Analysis complete, Samus. Residue left on your armour is a close match to what we found on the dead splinters and reanimated troopers. More data is needed, but I can say with 73% certainty that those creatures have parasitic or symbiotic abilities.”

“Understood, Wiki.”

So, it seems reasonable to assume that they can somehow bridge the gap between this world and… the other one, even without using the large rifts, so long as they have a host to infect.

Okay, this gate seems to be stuck, but there is a way around it here so long as I morph… there we go… and of course there are more troopers.

She feels a hint of irritation as she disables the four reanimated troopers in the room before heading for the elevator.

Shut down, but this is a standard GalFed control panel. There, there and there.

Now, what do we have up here? Ah… the right leads back to my ship, with the alien security gate in the way. According to the map the Galfed ship should be about two kilometres in the other direction.

The sail-like structures are intriguing.

The troopers were setting up quite the operation here. They really carry this much gear in a patrol ship? Well, this cargo crate is blocking my way, and without the space jump thrusters I can’t get over. Maybe the crane controls still work.

The console has suffered some damage, but if I reroute here and bypass that I should be able to… engage!

Ah, I didn’t intend to also send it away, but that makes little difference. Another alien security gate blocking the way further in here, but it looks like I should be able to make my way around and over it. The local wildlife seem to be docile. Let’s see if I can- oh, apparently not. These guys don’t seem to like me coming too close. Splinters, I presume.

Territorial, but not especially clever.

Samus quickly deals with the aggressive creatures using lightly charged shots.

Hard to believe these things defeated an entire outpost of Galactic Federation troopers, but I assume those dark beings aided them.

It appears that the troopers raised the bridge and locked it in place before they left, even though the wildlife seem perfectly capable of just scaling the rock walls. I’ll just disable the locks like this, and I can cross. Into the tunnel we go, and… ah, another trooper. Caught in a cave-in.

Samus lets out a slight sigh before accessing the trooper’s suit computer.

Galactic Federation Marine Corps
Personal Log Entry, PFC M. Veroni

I think Haley’s losing it. He talks to himself all the time, and he won’t sleep. He almost shot me on watch the other night. I think he thought I was one of those things. I talked to the doc about taking him off the line, and he told me we need all the help we can get. That’s true, but if he goes berserk and kills a bunch of us, that won’t be very helpful.

Did Haley really mistake one of his squadmates for a splinter? Or were they forced to fight their own reanimated friends and colleagues? Let’s hope not.

By morphing I can get by this cave-in, and hopefully reach the tunnel exit.

What a magnificent purple crystal.

I can detect another of those dimensional rifts behind this statue here, but Wiki says I need to find the right power source to get it moving. Fair enough, I’ll simply make a note of it on the map and move on. The tunnel seems to be opening up just past here…

Whoa.

Quite the massive structure we have there. But we still have a ship to find for next time, so the building will have to wait.

Chapter 3

Chapter 5

~Wulf

Posted on February 23, 2013, in Games and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

