Anime Winter Mid-Season 2015 Thoughts

As I’m getting more into the idea of writing about anime, I started thinking about also doing a mid-season kind of thing. Especially pertinent this time as a few shows have started popping up partway into the season. Why they’re not following the regular season schedule I can’t say, but they’re here.

I also figure that most of what I will drop I have dropped by now, so I can update on that, and give some thoughts on how the shows are progressing, even the ones that carried over from the autumn season. Here’s the early impressions post.

Without further ado, let’s start with the three new shows.

New Arrivals:

I don't even know.

Anime de Wakaru Shinryounaika

Aka Comical Psychosomatic Medicine.

I don’t know. I really don’t know. Ostensibly this is a PSA series about the prevalence of mental disorders and what one might do to seek help for them. And as far as I can tell, the information they provide is correct. But then there’s also the comedy element, especially with Japan’s huge love of puns, which just makes this a very bizarre viewing experience. It doesn’t help that whomever made the subs for this were quite likely falling over themselves laughing with how they could write the wackiest things.

The first episode covered Erectile Dysfunction, especially how it often relates to mental conditions, like stress and performance anxiety and so on. I’m not at all surprised they went with that one first, but I am curious enough to see what they’re going for next that I will probably keep checking in on this one for a bit.

Magical princesses are magical.

Go! Princess Precure

I’ve never watched a Precure show before this, but I had noticed it was a recurring name. Though I was assured that each Precure series is largely independent of the others, so I figured it was safe enough to check out.

And I’m really glad I did. Only three episodes are out yet, but I’m really enjoying Princess Precure. It’s guileless and cheerful and entirely on board with just being a straight up-and-up magical girl show. And the big evil is an evil pear! ( Probably not, but that’s what a friend and I are hoping for. )

Then we have Puff, who is quite possibly one of the cutest creatures I have ever seen. I swear she must be illegal in several countries. Just look at this! That’s a probably lethal level of cute!

It might not be super-deep, but it is very sweet, and I’m enjoying it.

Fuck this show.

ISUCA [Dropped]

Fuck this show. Ugh.

Again, the description made me highly sceptical, but I still wasn’t quite prepared for just how bad this was. Short story: Perverted bullshit, stay away.

Long story: Clueless guy gets mixed up with several girls who have a line into the supernatural, either as monster hunters, or monsters themselves. Probably going to turn into a harem thing. Pointless nudity, boob and butt shots, clothes being shredded in entirely unbelievable ways, and questionable priorities by the characters. Doesn’t feel sexy or sexual, so much as it just feels sexualised. A shame having what seems like decent artists wasted on crap like this. Not worth checking out.

Dropped Shows:

We don't understand how belts work.

Junketsu no Maria

I remember being quite optimistic about this show after episode 1, but all of that got pissed away during episode 2. I couldn’t even finish episode 2, I got way too struck by second-hand embarrassment and general cringe that I had to abandon ship. I’ve heard it gets better again, but I honestly don’t care.

Too much crap.

Juuou Mujin no Fafnir

Also dropped during episode 2. It was around the point where yon girly was waiting for her death, with yon boyo was her bodyguard, and she asked “Do boys like panties? Do you want to see mine?” that I just nope, nope, nope-d my way straight out of there.

Awful show.

Miritari

While initially amusing enough to bear the all the perverted stuff, it just got worse with every episode, and soon enough I just couldn’t take it any longer. Even if it was just 5 mins per week, that was 5 mins too many per week. Perverted nonsense.

Still Watching:

Tentacles!

Ansatsu Kyoushitsu (TV)

Every week I ask myself why I’m still watching this. Every week I keep watching.

There is something oddly charming about the show. Even though I still have no idea what its end-goal is. Koro-sensei has a weird way of punishing people by… well… grooming them. He seems really weirdly harmless in one way, and yet… I don’t know. I suppose I’ll keep watching.

Eeheeheeheehee! :D

Binan Koukou Chikyuu Bouei-bu Love!

It’s starting to feel a little like the joke is getting old by now, but I’m still enjoying the show. I’m really hoping it’s not going to outstay its welcome before episode 12, though. We’ll see how the final half goes. Many, many good quotes so far.

All the death.

Death Parade

This show seems to get increasingly strange, but it’s also very, very good. Some of the episodes are brilliant, but even the non-brilliant ones are pretty good. I’m enjoying the concept so far. Plus there is now a kitty! Worth watching if you want something… different.

That's a lot of girls.

The iDOLM@STER Cinderella Girls

Better than I thought it would be. It ended up with 14 main characters, 15 if you count the producer, but it only really focuses on a few of them, while the others become more like background/part-time characters.

It’s still managed to show off at least a basic personality for all of the girls though, but the clear stars have been the trio of Uzuki, Rin and Mio, and also the kitty-mannered Miku. … mostly Mio and Miku I suppose, as Rin tends to be pretty quiet, and Uzuki is rather meek. But at least they’re almost always present.

I hope it’ll stay good.

Fight-boats!

Kantai Collection: KanColle

Let me tell you how petty I am. While talking about this show on Twitter, and generally just referring to the girls universally as battleships, some random nerd had to butt in and “uuhh, technically they’re not all battleships, you know”. At which point I decided to categorically refer to all vessels of war, in the show or otherwise, as Fight-boats, until such a time as it no longer amuses me.

Huh, the show? Yeah, it’s pretty good.

Food lesbians.

Koufuku Graffiti

I am still absolutely in love with Tiny-chan, and I keep hoping for each episode that the “will they, won’t they” atmosphere will tip into “they will!” even though I know that won’t happen. Anime tends to see gay relationships, especially between girls, as something that’s “just a phase” and something they do before they get married. And most anime seems to have a problem displaying any sort of relationship beyond teasing anyway.

But! The show is still very sweet, and sometimes there are cuddles, and affection, and there’s lots of food, and I like watching it. So there.

More girls.

Rolling☆Girls

After the craziness of episode 1, this show has settled more into the titular rolling girls. Four girls from various backgrounds just travelling around to try to help people and look for little magical stones that probably give people superpowers. Probably.

Cute and confusing is the best way to describe it, and it’s an entertaining enough watch. I don’t see it as quite as… hm… ground-breaking as I saw some people claim, but it’s definitely not bad.

Yap.

Sengoku Musou

Apparently this game is based on an actual Samurai Warriors game. I was honestly just guessing! I still refer to it as Sengoku Naruto though.

Now since this show started, I watched the Extra Credits’ Extra History piece on the Sengoku Jidai, and apparently the show is following history with pretty close accuracy. Which is almost a bit depressing, because things did not turn out the way I had hoped when I saw the Extra History piece.  Especially learning that Tokugawa Hidetada is going to come out on top. That little shit doesn’t deserve it at all.

The show is interesting enough to watch though.

Girl detectives!

Tantei Kageki Milky Holmes TD

This is one of my favourite things to watch, partly because it’s just so bizarre. I mean, I’m not sure the girls are all that good as detectives, but they do somehow manage to actually solve most of their cases while helping Marine, which is impressive in and of itself. Good effort!

Skully!

Yoru no Yatterman

This show is somewhat of a strange mix, as it seems to have a bit of an issue finding a tone and sticking to it, and alternating when to follow cartoon physics, and when to follow actual physics. But it still has heart. I have learned since that back in the 70s or 80s there was an original Yatterman show, which I assume featured the events from Leopard’s storybook. It’s actually an interesting development to think that the basis for this show is “the good guys won, and then created a dystopian future”. I do kinda feel like I should go back and watch the original for context, but I’m not sure I’ll actually bother. I’ll keep watching this one.

Though I do wonder each episode what they actually did to the moon…

Carry-overs from Autumn Season 2014:

Matter-of-fact princess.

Akatsuki no Yona

I am increasingly getting the feeling that we don’t know as much about what is going on, and what was going on, as we thought we did. And that we’re kinda discovering the truth of this world along with Yona.

It will be interesting to see how the series is going to wrap up. They have reached the third dragon now, which makes me think there won’t be much time left after they gather all four. I wouldn’t be surprised if the show is aiming for a second series, but I kinda hope they will wrap things up in this one.

A crystal!

Bishoujo Senshi Sailor Moon: Crystal

Unfortunately this show is starting to wear on me. The art is bad, the writing is lacklustre, the directing is bleh… the only reason I’m still watching is to have something to complain about. Which shouldn’t be underrated, as there’s something therapeutic about getting out some bile that way, but it’s also a little disappointing as I had pretty high hopes for this show.

Definitely noms.

Bonjour♪ Koiaji Pâtisserie

I am still watching, but I don’t really have anything substantial to add? It’s still cute, and still sweet.

One wolf, two wolf.

Garo: Honoo no Kokuin

Second half of the series has been part bleak, part hopeful. Things seem to have gone back on track aiming for the finale now, after spending several episodes mostly character-building. And to be fair, at least Leon really needed that, and it hasn’t hurt the other characters either. But now things seem to be getting into motion again, and I’m interested to see how it’s going to end.

Monsters everywhere!

Kiseijuu: Sei no Kakuritsu aka Parasyte: The Maxim

The strange evolution of all the characters in this show is still pretty interesting to follow, even though I will agree with those who say that so far the second half of the series hasn’t been as interesting as the first half was.

Still utterly unquotable and un-screenshotable, but I still find watching it enjoyable. I do wonder if we’re going to get any answers as to where the parasites came from. Maybe it wasn’t space? Maybe they’re man-made? We might find out!

More Akatsuki, pls.

Log Horizon 2

Still very solid show, though the appearance of Roe 2 has me asking sooo many questions.

I don’t really believe they’ll be able to wrap everything up during this series, but maybe they’re going for a third series? That could be cool, because there’s still so much mystery to explore here.

The family.

Sanzoku no Musume Ronja

While the second half of the series has had its moments, it overall doesn’t feel as interesting as it used to be. However, it is still good enough that I really don’t mind watching it. I am still a little shocked at how pitch-black it got for a few episodes, though.

Play that music!

Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso

Oh gods, this show. So heart-breaking. So… human. Every week I have to make sure my heart feels ready before I start watching. I feel reasonably certain by now that the whole thing is going to end in tragedy, but I can’t stop watching. It’s so good. It might be the best.

Frantic!

SHIROBAKO

I think I lied, because Shirobako is definitely the best. I’m enjoying this show so much, it’s fantastic. I do like how they sort of wrapped up the first half of the series by finishing one show, and now in the second half they’re working on another. There’s even new, cute characters that have shown up, and old characters figuring out new talents, and I’m so happy for all of this.

With the one exception of how I hope that red-hair girl will catch a break soon, because she always seems to be the one left out, poor dear.

If you have the slightest interest in how anime is made, or maybe you just enjoy a good show, then definitely watch Shirobako!

Phew, at the end! For now. Until winter season ends, and spring season starts.

~Wulf

Posted on February 17, 2015, in Cartoons and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

