Kissing Is Magic

[A/N: A silly idea I had a while back, and only rediscovered as I was looking through my files of writing ideas I have remembered to make a note of. What if Kasumi was a magical girl, but she needed to kiss Arisa to transform? I don’t remember exactly when I had this idea, I don’t add time and date to my notes, but it was probably quite a while ago.]

Ichigaya Arisa was relaxing in her living room with a glass of ice tea. She didn’t like moving around much at the best of times, and in the current summer heat it was absolutely out of the question to be any more active than absolutely necessary. Though she had agreed to go out for ice cream later.

The things I do for love, she idly mused to herself.

Speaking of, suddenly Toyama Kasumi barged into the room in her unfortunately usual way.

“A~ri~sa~!”

“What?” They weren’t leaving yet, so she wanted to enjoy her tea a little longer. A good girlfriend should probably greet her partner with a bit more enthusiasm, but it was a pain when it was so hot.

“Hey, Arisa! Quickly!” Kasumi insisted.

“What?!” Arisa turned her head, and found that Kasumi was right in her face. “Mm?!”

Wait, what’s happening right now? Arisa had to ask herself. Kasumi was so close. Aren’t we actually touching? Her brain was trying to process what was going on. Her lips are… is she kissing me? She’s kissing me… It was a soft sensation, and she could taste Kasumi’s cherry lip balm. Why is she…

Kasumi pulled back. “Thank you~,” she said, and then something even more astounding happened. There was a flash, and Kasumi was suddenly striking a pose. “Mahou Hoshi Ai (Magical Star Love)! Evil can never stand up against the power of my love!”

“Ka… Kasumi?” Arisa stared at her in a daze. It didn’t make sense that it was anyone but Kasumi, but it also didn’t make sense that it was her. She was dressed in some pink and white outfit with a big skirt, and her hair had turned a vivid pink as well, darker than that of her clothes. She looked like something out of a children’s cartoon. Yeah, like a magical girl, was the thought that Arisa couldn’t suppress.

“I’ll be right back~!” The girl who was probably Kasumi said before she zoomed out of the open door to the backyard, and vanished into the air.

Arisa could only stare in disbelief. It could be a dream. A hallucination. There was no way that had actually happened. Kasumi just kissing her out of the blue, and then turning into a magical girl. It had to be the heat cooking Arisa’s brain. Maybe she had passed out, and it was just a dream. A hecking weird one, but a lot of dreams were.

Because if this was reality, then her very first kiss had turned into something utterly bizarre.

* * *

“Okay, I have one question. What the hell was that?!”

It had been about a month since Arisa and Kasumi had officially started dating, though they had fallen in love some time before that. Arisa felt it was an exaggeration to call it love at first sight, and it had taken about a year from their first meeting to actually going out. No way she had been lovestruck for a year before daring to say anything. The rest of Popipa might disagree. Besides, Kasumi should have said something sooner. It should have been obvious that… wait, she was getting off track.

“Well, I’m a magical girl, you see!” Kasumi said proudly.

“You expect me to just believe that?”

“But you saw it, didn’t you?”

Arisa sighed in defeat. “Yeah… I did…” She was still open to the idea that she had been hallucinating, but she had seen Kasumi turn into a magical girl, and flown off to wherever. She’d even come back looking that way before she turned normal again right in front of Arisa’s eyes.

“I meant to tell you in a more proper way,” Kasumi said. “But an emergency came up, and it couldn’t wait… I’m sorry.”

“What does an emergency have to with anything?” Arisa asked. “And why did you kiss me?”

“Um… you see… I have to kiss someone I love in order to transform. And there’s no one I love more than you, Arisa!” Kasumi beamed.

Ugh, so bright. Sometimes Kasumi was a bit much for Arisa’s heart to handle, and she couldn’t help blushing. Especially when she said something so corny. “B-but that was our first kiss, you know?” She had always imagined their first kiss would be a tender, intimate moment. What Kasumi had done was… basically a drive-by.

“I know… but it really was an emergency,” Kasumi repeated.

“What emergency? Did you have to fight a monster or something?” Arisa jokingly asked.

“Yes.” No hesitation.

“No, wait, hang on, Kasumi. Monsters are real?”

“Yes. Why else would we be magical girls?” Kasumi asked as if it was the most obvious thing in the world.

“I don’t know! Magical girls aren’t real!” Arisa vented her frustration. “At least… that’s what I thought until today…”

“I’m sorry, Arisa. I really wanted to break it to you in a better way, but I couldn’t think of anything. I didn’t think you would believe me.” Kasumi was correct in thinking so. “So you could say this was fortune in misfortune!”

“I don’t know about that…” Something Kasumi had said earlier connected in Arisa’s brain. “Wait, you said ‘we’…”

Kasumi nodded. “The five of us are a team! Oh, but I can’t tell you who they are,” she quickly added.

“Five of… you can’t… actually, that part makes sense,” Arisa reluctantly admitted. Going around giving away other people’s secrets was bad even in normal circumstances.

“I’ll be counting on you from now on, Arisa~!” Kasumi said with a bright smile.

“Counting on me? For wha- oh.” Arisa started blushing again. “S-surely there’s some other way…”

“There isn’t.” Kasumi shook her head. “Don’t you want to kiss me?”

“That’s…” Arisa felt very flustered. “I didn’t mean that… exactly… it was… um… nice… but… gah, what are you making me say?!” She fled into her room, and locked the door.

“Arisa?!”

“Leave me alone!” Arisa needed time to cool down.

* * *

And so a new routine was added to Arisa’s life.

“Arisa~!” Kasumi would kiss her when she visited the Toyama household.

“A~ri~sa~!” When they were out together.

“Arisaaa~.” Even when they got back to school.

“Hey, Arisa~.” And of course when she was in her own home.

“Hm? Why haven’t you… changed yet, Kasumi?” Arisa felt a little dizzy since that last one had been more intense than she was used to.

“Hehe~!” Kasumi grinned. “This one is just for me.”

“Oh.” Arisa wasn’t sure how to respond to that, but it was all too easy to surrender to the kisses. In fact, it was even better when it was more than one at a time. She didn’t mind if Kasumi was selfish like this more often.

* * *

“Hey, Arisa-nee,” Asuka said as she came up to where Arisa was relaxing.

“Oh, hey, Asuka,” Arisa replied while Asuka sat down next to her.

“How’s it going?” Asuka asked.

“Eh… it’s nice to sit down after Kasumi had dragged me around shopping,” Arisa said. Her girlfriend had way too much stamina, not to mention her feet never seemed to ache.

Asuka nodded. “So… I heard onee-chan had you take over… um… kissing duty, Arisa-nee. How’s that been?”

“It’s been… wait, ‘take over’?”

“Yeah, it used to be me that onee-chan kissed,” Asuka confirmed. “I’m glad she found someone else. Uh, sorry, I didn’t mean…”

“Haha, it’s fine,” Arisa said. But Kasumi used to kiss her sister like this? I hadn’t considered that she needed someone else before me. I know she loves her sister, but I didn’t think it was in a siscon kind of way. Should I be worried? At least it sounds like it’s not happening any longer…

“It’s embarrassing, but at least it’s only on the cheek.”

Arisa stopped in her tracks at that bombshell. “What do you mean ‘it’s only on the cheek’? She told me it has to be on the mouth!!”

“Uh… uh-oh.”

“Kasumi!!!”

Asuka had accidentally created some trouble for her sister.

~Wulf

Posted on July 31, 2021, in Games and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.